Posted by: jackslife | December 21, 2007

Of the Blood and the Cross

I was having a theological discussion at a Christmas part yesterday. The discussion had the do with the importance of the cross as a focal point of worship. I had just recently been re-reading “The Normal Christian Life” and immediately thought of this passage –

The root trouble is the sinner; he must be dealt with. Our sins are dealt with by the Blood, but we ourselves are dealt with by the Cross. The Blood procures our pardon for what we have done; the Cross procures our deliverance from what we are.

I think that there may well be an incorrect focus on the cross in worship, which I believe was the point being made by my friend, but that it in no way diminishes the need for a focus on the cross.  The cross should definitely never serve to distract us from the person who did the work of the cross, but it does have an important function in reminding us of what is required of us as Christians.

Romans 6 says that we are “crucified” with Christ.  As Watchman Nee reminds us, the normal Christian life is one of death to ourselves so that Christ can live through us.  The cross is always seen in this context.  We are told to take up our cross daily and follow Him.

I recently finished reading the book, “The Heavenly Man”, about a Christian in China.  This book really showed me that the Church in the West in not typified by a lifestyle of suffering or sacrifice.  We give from our bounty and we do not suffer for the gospel.  Some of this is due to favorable conditions in our countries, but some of it is because we avoid everything that makes us uncomfortable.  Are we really taking up our crosses for Christ?  Matthew 16:25 says, “For whoever wishes to save his life will lose it; but whoever loses his life for My sake will find it.” NASB.  I know in my own life, I have been guilty of not just wishing to save my life, but of wishing to save myself from uncomfortable social situations.  This is not taking up my cross.

I just wanted to encourage all of my fellow believers to make the life of the cross the focal point of their life.

Leave a Reply

Categories

