Posted by: jackslife | March 22, 2009

See, Beer is a Good Thing

Just what I have been waiting for.  An article that praises the virtues of beer.  Now I have an explanation for my love of beer that aligns with my personal social/political philosophy.

The news is dreadful: According to the Census, since 2006 we have been living in a republic where, for the first time in the history of the republic, Americans drink more bottled water than we drank beer.

Why is this important?  It’s important because beer is a socially oriented beverage, and bottled water is a privately oriented one.

See, I am being a friend of mankind when I imbibe a good brew. But seriously, I think this article does make a great point about what I love about beer. I also enjoy smoking hookah for the same reasons. It is a great thing to do while enjoying the company of your good friends.

More –

In terms of small-d democratic life, of course, this is a dangerous trend: The less people’s lives are outward-looking, spent outside and with others, and the more people’s lives are inward-looking, spent inside and on insular terms, the less care attends to the public sphere.  And as a number of political scholars have pointed out, any time you have a pervasive and soft indifference to the public sphere, you are likely to develop a politics that loses its moderation, that becomes ever more polarized, dominated by extremists and oligarchs.

This is an excellent point.  I have made the same argument regarding the fact that everywhere you look you see people with Ipod earbuds in their ears while they do everything.  I have been guilty of this antisocial behavior myself.  I don’t know if I’ve ever been more embarrassed than the time I walked around the grocery store with my headphones in.

Responses

  1. Haha. I did the Ipod in the grocery store once too, but I one ear free. 🙂

    Eventhough I’m not a drinker myself, I can see the value in getting together to enjoy a beer. That’s a lot of the appeal for me in smoking a cigar, I always am with friends when I smoke.

  2. Yeah, I think it’s the same type of thing. I think that the point about social activities, be it drinking, smoking a cigar, or grabbing a coffee can all perform the same function. I think that they are all good in moderation.


Leave a Reply

Categories

