Posted by: jackslife | April 1, 2009

The Pun Also Rises

Jason Peters shares a series of that most noble form of comedy, the pun.  I can only sanction these because of the literary nature of the puns in question.  Here is a brief snippet –

Satirists propose to improve morals and manners by subjecting them to ridicule.  Pursuant to this noble project, I have undertaken a project of high satirical seriousness: to credit my enemies with publications chosen from a vast fund of originals—originals, that is, that have been slightly altered. (These jokes would work better if Christian charity did not forbid my matching the titles with specific oafs and fools, but there’s not much I can do about the stern demands of Christian charity.)

Take, for example, my colleagues whose sedentary “lifestyles” have rendered them a bit more corpulent than perhaps they ought to be. They are an astonishingly productive lot. Their works include Lord of the Pies, The City of Cod, Planet of the Crepes, To Grill a Mockingbird, The House of the Seven Refrigerators, The Ryme of the Ancient Marinade, Lord of the Onion Rings, ’Tis Pity She’s a Cow, Frosting at Midnight, The Gulash Archipelago, The Pound and the Curry, Finnegan’s Cake, Fatness Shrugged, The Pie Who Loved Me, and Lard Times. One colleague who has difficulty getting out of chairs I have honored with The Ton Also Rises.

Responses

  1. I love a good pun–who am I kidding, I love almost all puns–but I always focus keeping it live and in the moment. I’d never thought about raising the bar by constructing literary surroundings for the puns and even adding literary references to the surroundings. You end up with highbrow puns that talk through their noses and look through their monocles at the common puns who have to fit themselves into conversations not intended for them. It’s like a whole new world.
    Mr. Slife, you’ve blown my mind.


Leave a Reply

Categories

