Posted by: jackslife | May 18, 2009

What is of Value to Us?

Rod has a great post about the things that we value and find worth keeping. This has been something that has kept my brain churning a lot in the last few months.  As our culture has become more and more disposable, I find that there is hardly anything that we assign intrinsic value to.  Things are not valuable in and of themselves, but are only given value based on other (generally economic) grounds.

We value mobility and freedom above all else in this society.  We feel put upon by anything that ties us to a place or a tradition.  The question that I ask is whether we are really better off for the lack of these things.  We have more autonomous freedom apart from our religious, or even geographical, communities.  Does that mean that we are better off without them?  True, I am constrained by my church family to behave in certain ways, which doubtless limits my freedom in some way, but I consider my quality of life to be better for this institution.  In the same way, I believe that there is something to be said for a life that is connected to place (such as family land).  I don’t always live in a way that confirms this judgement, but I think that these places mold our characters and make us unique people, as opposed to homogeneous consumers.  This is admittedly a struggle for me, as I can abstractly hold these opinions, but am very much a product of our mobile society.  I would mostly just like to see more people in our culture ask themselves the simple question, “What are we losing?”

Leave a Reply

Categories

